JUDICIAL APPOINTMENTS

Crerar, to be Minister of Agriculture; the Hon. Newton Wesley Rowell, to be President of the Privy Council; the Hon. James A. Calder to be Minister of Immigration and Colonization. Oct. 13. The Hon. Charles C. Ballantyne, to be Minister of Marine and Fisheries and Minister of Naval Service; the Hon. Frank B. Carvell, to be Minister of Public Works.

Judicial Appointments.—1916: Feb. 29. Victor Allard, of Berthier, Que., to be a puisne judge of the Superior Court of Quebec in the room and stead of the Hon. H. C. St. Pierre, deceased. Louis Joseph Alfred Desy, of Three Rivers, Que., to be a puisne judge of the Superior Court of Quebec in the room and stead of the Hon. F S. Tourigny, deceased. The Hon. Harrison Andrew McKeown, Judge of the King's Bench Division, to be Chief Justice of the King's Bench Division of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. William Botsford Chandler, of Moncton, to be a judge of the King's Bench División of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. Sept. 9. Joseph Mathias Tellier, of Joliette, to be a puisne judge of the Superior Court of Quebec in the room and stead of the Hon. Napoléon Charbonneau, deceased. The Hon. Oswald Smith Crockett, judge of the King's Bench Division of the Supreme Court, to be judge of the Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Cases of New Brunswick. Nov. 14. the Hon. Frank Egerton Hodgins, of Toronto, Justice of Appeal of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of Ontario, to be local judge in Admiralty of the Exchequer Court in and for the district of Toronto, Dec. 4. William Nessau Ferguson, of Toronto, to be a judge of the Supreme Court of Ontario and a member of the Appellate Division of the said court in the room and stead of the Hon. J. T. Garrow, deceased. Hugh Edward Rose, of Toronto, to be a judge of the Supreme Court of Ontario and a member of the High Court Division and ex officio a member of the Appellate Division in the room and stead of the Hon. Sir John Boyd, deceased. Dec. 29. Charles Albert Duclos, of Montreal, to be a puisne judge of the Superior Court of Quebec. 1917: May 1. David MacEwan Eberts, of Victoria, to be puisne justice of the Court of Appeal of British Columbia. The Hon. John Alexander Mathieson, of Charlottetown, to be Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Judicature of Prince Edward Island in the room and stead of the Hon. Sir Wilfred Sullivan, retired. July 20. Charles Percy Fullerton, of Winnipeg, to be a judge of the Court of Appeal of Manitoba in the room and stead of the Hon. A. E. Richards, deceased. The Hon. Lyman P. Duff, judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, to be Central Appeal judge under the Military Service Act, 1917

Commissions.—1916: Feb. 7 Robert A. Pringle and His Honour D. B. MacTavish, of Ottawa, to be commissioners to inquire into and concerning the origin of the recent disastrous fire which destroyed the Parliament Buildings of Ottawa. May 9. Hector Edmond Dupré, of Quebec; Warren Hatheway, of St. John, N.B.; Theophilus Hatton Wardleworth, of Montreal; Frank Urgel Pause, of Montreal; James William Woods, of Toronto and George William Allan, of Winnipeg, to be commissioners to inquire in the United Kingdom, France, Belgium and Italy into the possibilities for the supply of Canadian products.